Is There Cheating in Art?

I am working on a three panel painting of two Horses running. They are very thick and very gestural. I plan on spending a few days on them.

I have completed two other paintings but I don’t have a computer at the studio so I will post them all together.

Some thoughts I have on using technology in art creation.

Well a lot of people ask me how I come up with my paintings and do I use visual aids?  I use everything, Photographs, imagination, and direct observation.

I think to avoid using technology in ones art is like hiding out in  bomb shelter. Your art will not grow with the world round you. These tools exist and as artist we need to use anything and everything we can get to convey our message. But with this being said we need to use caution.

For a while last year I was using masking tape to create paintings(The Painting is above). The straight lines that were created were cleaner than any line I could ever paint. A fellow artist asked me how I achieved this as the painting was much cleaner than all of my other paintings. I explained how it was created using masking tape. He say oh you cheated.  I do not agree with him. In order to cheat there has to be rules. There are no rules in art so there is no cheating. If you can pull of a strong painting with a projector or trace an image on a canvas then go for it.

The problem people get onto when using technology is that they use it s a crutch and not a step.  A lot of the time you can look at a painting and it looks just like it was painted using  projector or a photo. There is no cheating in art  but you may leave the viewer feeling cheated if you cheapen your process.

Art is an illusion. The artist should be creative enough to let the viewer move beyond the process. If the viewer can see through the process then the artwork is pointless. The magician can not let the audience see the card  he has under his sleeve.

Leave a Reply

